Stage 4 Making My textile piece

I have decided to weave a circle /semi sphere structure with a 2 metre diameter. This is based on a variety of drawings (see the A3, A4 & A5 sketch books) and inspiration from basic a parachute, an African hut and a mirror tent. As this piece was quite large I did not scale it to the drawing I did. I had to experiment with lots of different materials as some were more suited to being woven on a bigger scale. I wove 8 triangle shaped panels in a variety of materials: wool silk, bamboo, grass, fake hair, off cuts of wall paper recycled from a hand printed wallpaper studio. I would weave near the completed panels so as to keep a sense of the whole piece while doing the individual parts.  I then knotted each panel together to form a complete circle. I held the circle together in the middle by tying each panel with wool to a wooden embroidery circle.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

