Selecting materials and considering the design

I first laid out a range of materials in my house and started to group different combinations together. I spent an afternoon doing this.

 I then made small triangular shapes of tracing paper and combined the yarns. I made a theme board including some of my research on circles and parachutes.

 I also did some small scale triangular weaves on a mini triangle loom I had constructed to try out different materials.

I have chosen not to draw out designs but rather experiment with different yarn combinations i.e. working directly with the materials. The design is made up of eight panels which will be sewn together to form the canopy. I don’t want the panels to be all the same but I want them to link perhaps through colour or through a graduation from light to dark (involving the thickness of the weave).

Photograph: material selection by Zoe Wilkinson  2014

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

